I love Legos

070x070_logo.gifI love Legos. I just do. Working with Legos, I can be both an engineer and an artist. Some of my projects have included, Lego Crossbow, Lego Boat, Lego Tower, Lego Archbridge, and Lego Computer. Although my Lego Computer seems to impress a lot of people, I like my Archbridge the best. I made it entirely out of 2X1 and 3X1 bricks, and I love the simplicity of design that I used.

Lego Computer

Playing with Legos is a very relaxing experience for me, and I love rearranging a design over and over again until it is something that I can be proud of. Although I like the mechanical Legos such as axles and gears, what I enjoy the most are the simple, classic bricks. It is amazing what can be created just with simple bricks. Sure all of the wacky pieces are fun and pretty, but bricks are the true Legos.

The new line of Legos have very much disappointed me. The emphasis is no longer creativity, but on silly market ploys like Harry Potter and soccer. But what is the worst is the plastic junk Lego has created. They are no longer really Legos but action figures with silly cg movies and video games that go along with them. Where is the creativity in creating and playing with something that has already been made for you? I think this is why Lego has been doing poorly and had to close production in the USlame.jpg

Lego ChaosBut very much like how Buddhist monks destroy their sand mandalas when completed, I too have to destroy my creations in order to build something new. The process of destroying something you spent a lot of time on can be painful, but there is much joy in creating something entirely new out of its death.

One Response to I love Legos

Leave a Reply

